Skip to main content

National Medal of Science

The National Medal of Science, the nation’s highest scientific honor, is a presidential award given to individuals “deserving of special recognition by reason of their outstanding contributions to knowledge in the physical, biological, mathematical, or engineering sciences.” In 1980, this recognition was expanded to include the social and behavioral sciences.

  • 2014 Albert Bandura,* Psychology
  • 2005 Gordon H. Bower,* Psychology
  • 2005 Bradley Efron, Statistics
  • 2003 Charles Yanofsky,* Biological Sciences
  • 2002 John I. Brauman, Chemistry
  • 1999 John Ross,* Chemistry
  • 1995 Roger N. Shepard,* Psychology
  • 1992 Calvin Quate,* Applied Physics and Electrical Engineering
  • 1983 Richard N. Zare, Chemistry